End of the Year Blues: 3 Ways to Beat Those Goals – Guest Post by Rayleigh Gray

Hello! Today, I have a little something different for you guys. Rayleigh Gray is here, talking about ways to accomplish our goals at the end of the year. Be sure to check out my post on her blog, about resting in the hope of Jesus when bad things keep happening. Alright, take it away, Rayleigh!


With the end of 2017 nearing, and the year seeming to speed up as we approach that end, it’s easy to lose heart in the goals we set for ourselves at the beginning of the year that have yet to be accomplished. After all, we’ve had all year to complete that goal, so how could we possibly cross that finish line triumphantly with less than 10 weeks of the year left?

One goal of mine (in fact, it’s been my “New Year’s Resolution” for the past 4 years) is to finish my novel, A Queen is Knighted. Unfortunately, the first half of the year slips by without much motivation and then summer happens, I just can’t seem to focus during the summer months, and before I know it, it’s November and I’ve only added a few chapters. Usually, I just give up and say “Guess I’ll try again next year.”

But, this year, instead of being disgruntled and wondering how I could have let an entire year slip by, I’ve decided to make these last 2 months count. And I encourage you not to lose hope in a goal that you have yet to meet either, because the year isn’t over yet!

Here are some of the ways I’ve combated those “end of the year blues”:

1. Don’t be willing to quit!
It’s so easy to do as I’ve always done and say “I guess I’ll just try again next year”, but DON’T! Trust me, a lot can be accomplished in 2 months, and if we’re willing to hang it up and leave it for next year, then not only are we not accomplishing that goal, but we’re also keeping ourselves from setting a new goal. Don’t be willing to quit, fight it, because you can most certainly do it!

2. Try to make a daily habit.
I’m not sure what your goal is, but if it can be done a little bit every day, make it a point to do it daily! I read a study that said it takes 21 days to create habit (and 21 days to break one). That’s 3 weeks. If you can do something every single day for a solid 3 weeks, then you’ll have created a habit and it will become a part of you! There are more than 3 weeks left in the year so you have plenty of time to create that habit!

For me, my goal is to at least write something every day in my book. One day I wrote a little over 2,000 words, and then the very next day I wrote 78 words. One paragraph. But I wrote. Even if it’s just a little bit, if you’re able to make yourself do something that takes you a baby step closer to your goal, it’s worth it.

And finally,

3. Remember why you want to accomplish this goal.
Is it something you’re passionate about? Something that you’ve always wanted to do? Something that needs to be done?

Regardless, there is a reason that you set this goal to begin with, and that reason is the key to motivation. Remember it and go after it. Trust me, you don’t want to keep re-setting the same goal year after year, the motivation to get it finished starts to fade.

I keep a few scriptures in my mind whenever I prepare to tackle my resolutions, whether they are scribbled on my mirror, set as a background on my phone, or kept in my memory, they keep me going.

Philippians 4:13 – “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

James 1:4 – “Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

Psalm 23:1 – “The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.”
(I always add in my own thinking “including motivation”. “The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing, including motivation.”)

I hope these help you finish out the year strongly and that you’re able to not only cross that finish line, but to run well past it and into the winner’s circle!

Is there anything that you’ve found helpful to meet those goals as the deadline comes up? If you’d like to share those, feel free to drop them in the comments!

A huge thanks to Kayla for allowing me to visit today and share some tips! Be sure to catch her post on Accelerate The Jesus Movement, The Eternal Hope of Jesus.


 

Leave a Reply

