Let’s Talk About Jesus

No, really, let’s talk about Jesus. Let’s talk about Jesus to our friends, family members, acquaintances. Let’s talk about Jesus in our day-to-day lives.

Y’all, I’m a very shy person. Meeting new people makes me nervous, I’m awkward, and I’m no good at starting conversations with anyone but my closest friends no matter how hard I try.

I often use this as an excuse to not talk about Jesus with those I care about in my life. But that’s not okay.

Right before I started writing this post, I read a Facebook post from a friend talking about sharing the Gospel. She talked about stepping out of our comfort zones to strike up real, spiritual conversations. It got me thinking.

Naturally, I started to (in my head) go on the defensive. I do share the Gospel, just not in the way she’s talking about. I have this blog, don’t I? I’m using the writing gift God has given me to spread His Good News. Isn’t that enough?

But, woah, I’m going to stop myself right there. When it comes to sharing the Gospel and talking about Jesus, it’s never just “enough.” 

Jesus is the Light of the World. He’s our Savior, our Rock, our Redeemer. Without Him, there is no hope. Without Him, we are doomed to an eternity separated from God.

We can never settle for talking about Him just “enough.”

Jesus commanded us to “go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit” (Matthew 28:19 NLT). That command is pretty clear. And I don’t think it means we should draw a line at when we’ve shared the Gospel “enough.” It doesn’t mean that we can talk ourselves out of doing anything but sharing the Gospel whole-heartedly and unashamedly.

See, it was a dangerous line of thinking I was falling into when I was using my blog to justify not sharing the Gospel in my day-to-day conversations. I was settling for something less than what I was fully capable of because of fear.

And we should never settle when it comes to God. He deserves nothing but our very best. He deserves nothing but our everything. After all, we do owe Him our lives.

Further, if we fully understand the weight of the Gospel, and we really love others as Christ called us to love, how can we let fear–or anything else–keep us from sharing the joy of Jesus with them?

That goes for acquaintances and random people we meet as well as for our closest friends and family members.

I understand as much as the next girl that it can be incredibly difficult to talk about Jesus with those we’re close to. For some reason, it’s easier to share with complete strangers than with those we love the most. Maybe it’s because we don’t have to live with complete strangers and fret over how they might judge us.

But, again, that’s fear talking.

If these people are really those we love the most, we should be even more willing and more adamant about sharing the Gospel with them.

After all, it is a life-and-death situation. 

I think one of the reasons it can be so easy for us to brush off talking about Jesus is because we are forgetting the stakes. The Bible tells us that the only way to heaven is through Jesus Christ. That’s it.

If our friends, family members, classmates, and coworkers don’t realize that, then they’re walking a dangerous path. How can we stand by and let them continue down that path without even trying to show them the right path?

If we saw a person walking out into the middle of a busy highway would we stop them and point them to safety, or would we let them continue? 

But I’m not capable of pointing anyone in the right direction on my own. I think I’ve made that abundantly clear to myself in the way I let fear control me and the way I convince myself that I don’t have the right words to say what needs to be said.

But good news: Jesus doesn’t expect us to do it alone. He is the Savior. 

We can’t save anyone. Only Jesus can save. 

Jesus simply expects us to set our eyes on Him and let the Holy Spirit guide us. He will give us the words to say what we need to say, just like He equipped Moses to lead the Israelites out of Egypt. From there, we simply need to let the Holy Spirit work.

I know that it isn’t necessarily “simple” like I made it out to be. But the Bible never said the Christian life would be easy. Rewarding, yes. Fulfilling, yes. But definitely not easy.

That’s why we need to keep turning back to Jesus whenever we mess up and experience His grace. We are warriors for a heavenly King.

One thought on “Let’s Talk About Jesus

Leave a Reply

